Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

“Ninety percent of the people I’ve worked with who are disruptive or lazy or unskilled or addicts or likely to throw a tantrum are men. Ninety percent of the ones who get called “difficult” are women.”

I have had some luck with audiobooks lately.  As I stated when I talked about Lauren Graham’s recent memoir, I hadn’t really tried audiobooks since I enjoyed physically reading so much.  But since I’ve been doing a lot of driving recently, audiobooks seemed like the best way to pass the time.  Since I liked listening to one actress tell her life story, I decided to try another.  And just like with Lauren Graham’s, I absolutely adored hearing Anna Kendrick’s stories from her own mouth.

Anna Kendrick’s book Scrappy Little Nobody is a little more acerbic, a little deeper, and a little more honest, and a whole lot of fun.  She doesn’t hesitate to tell it like it is, and she does tell some tales of what she’s witnessed in show business since her young years on Broadway, while keeping names withheld to protect the innocent and the guilty.

Kendrick’s humor is amply apparent in this book, and I actually found myself driving around aimlessly for about half an hour so I could finish the book without having to exit the car.  I think that’s a pretty good indication for quality. One of my favorite parts is quoted below, and I think showcases her wit and writing skills.

“*Some dudes like to say that men have the instinct to spread their seed, while women are supposed to protect their reproductive organs from everything but the best sperm for the strongest potential offspring. By that logic every woman in the world should be saving herself for Dwayne “The Rock’ Johnson and never let any of you shitheads touch her. Seriously, you guys should stop using that argument.”

Kendrick’s book makes me want to sit down with her and a cup of coffee and just spend hours chatting about her life and whatever random topics come to mind.  She’s funny, she’s sweet, and she feels like the best friend you haven’t met yet.

She covers topics like friend-zoning:

“Some bitter boys reading this might accuse me of “friend-zoning,” but I’d like to say that even if a girl has misinterpreted a situation that someone else thinks was obvious, she does not owe her male friends anything.”

Being seen as nice:

“I gave up on being Nice. I started putting more value on other qualities instead: passion, bravery, intelligence, practicality, humor, patience, fairness, sensitivity. Those last three might seem like they are covered by “nice,” but make no mistake, they are not. A person who smiles a lot and remembers everyone’s birthday can turn out to be undercover crazy, a compulsive thief, and boring to boot. I don’t put a lot of stock in nice. I’d prefer to be around people who have any of the above qualities over “niceness,” and I’d prefer it if that applied to me, too.”

Learning lessons while working:

“People being tough with you doesn’t mean they’re villains.”

The Tonys:

“I lost a Tony Award to Broadway legend Audra McDonald when I was twelve, so I’ve been a bitter bitch since before my first period.”

And more.  Like I said, it’s hilariously funny to listen to.  I hope I can have half the wit and charm of Kendrick, or at least the ability to be utterly myself without giving a shit what others think of me.  I laughed, I loved, and I wanted to plaster some of her words across my former TrapperKeeper as a reminder of what to keep true.  I hope she writes another book- I’d love to sit down and hear more straight from Anna’s wonderful mind.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

