The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

“My friend Erin says we all have demons inside us, voices that whisper we’re no good, that if we don’t make this promotion or ace that exam we’ll reveal to the world exactly what kind of worthless sacks of skin and sinew we really are Maybe that’s true. Maybe mine just have louder voices.”

I have been loving this recent publishing trend of women-focused thrillers.  There have been so many, with sympathetic characters, with awful people you can’t help but be fascinated with their lives and lies- they’re right up my alley.  And this one, featuring one place I don’t really want to ever go, was a stellar choice.

My mom is a travel agent, and I have been forever horrified by tales of all the shit that goes down on cruise ships.  You’re out in international waters, and there are not many precautions put in place in case you fall overboard, whether by accident or malice.  So needless to say, this story set on a tiny ship in European waters without cell service or Internet immediately made me uneasy.

Our heroine Lo is also uneasy starting on her trip, due to a recent home invasion before she departed.  She’s shaken, but she also knows her own mind, and when she borrows mascara from a woman that everyone on board tells her doesn’t exist, she knows what she saw.  And in one of my favorite scenes in a book in a long time, when a member of the crew makes reference to the fact that she uses anti-depressants as a reason to doubt her, she tears him a new one.  It’s not a new idea to place doubt on a character because they suffer from depression or anxiety, and I loved that Lo did not hesitate in calling out that bullshit for what it was.  Lo may be anxious, she may have suffered some trauma before this trip, but she knows her own mind.  And she’s bound and determined to find out what is happening on this hell trip on the high seas.

I don’t want to spoil any of the twists and turns in this story, but it’s one hell of a ride.  I couldn’t put it down, and I loved how we got Lo’s story and then little snippets of e-mails and news media set after her trip that featured worried family and friends wondering where she had disappeared to.

I really loved The Woman in Cabin 10 and I can’t wait to check out Ware’s newest.  If it’s half as entertaining as this one, I will be in for a treat.

One thought on “The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

Add yours

  1. Mallory lent this to me but I haven’t read it yet! It was a previous Book Of the Month club selection! I love women focused thrillers too and I’ve never liked thrillers. And this concept of social justice in novels. If you like girl thrillers I HIGHLY recommend Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane with a female protagonist who has an anxiety disorder and agoraphobia.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

