The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 4: I Kissed a Squirrel and I Liked It by Ryan North

Image result for squirrel girl mole man

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is one of my absolute favorite comics publishing today.  Between Ryan North (of Dinosaur Comics fame) and his hilarious writing and Erica Henderson’s fantastic drawings, this comic is the complete package.

Doreen Green is here to kick butts and eat nuts as the lovable Squirrel Girl, and she has the best sidekicks ever, with Tippy Toe the bow wearing squirrel, Koi Boi and Chipmunk Hunk, and her BFF and roommate Nancy.  I love Nancy.  Nancy is the greatest.  And she has a cat and loves Cat Thor and NANCY IS THE BEST YOU GUYS.

Tippy Toe is also the best.  I feel like I should just state this for the record. (Doreen is also the best guys, but I feel like that was already known.)

And this specific volume of Squirrel Girl was an unbelievable delight, due to a dating storyline that was both funny and so true that it made me wince.  Dating can be a minefield, and only Squirrel Girl could have to deal with the trouble of finding a halfway decent date with a super villain that decides that she’s his one true love.  And there’s also a GREAT choose your own adventure style story intro’d by Galactus that challenges you to be the best Squirrel Girl you can be.

Image result for galactus squirrel girl

Volume 4 was another fantastic voyage with one of my favorite superheroes, and I cannot wait for the next volume. And honestly, how can you not love a series that has the best punny squirrel titles? Volume 5 is Like I’m the Only Squirrel in the World and I cannot wait to get it in my grubby little paws. (Sorry Tippy.)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

