The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

“Fiction, no matter the form, allows you to live a thousand meaningful experiences and relationships that you could never have in real life. Getting invested in a fictional world means you have a wonderful imagination, a big heart, and the capacity for endless creativity. No one can say anything bad about that.”

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is an adorable, compact little volume that acts like an instructional guide to fandom and how to find your niche within.  I’ve been a fangirl since as long as I can remember.  I was obsessed with Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers as a kid, and wanted Tommy and Kimberly to be together forever.  I read Little Women and agonized over the fact that Jo and Laurie didn’t end up together.  When I was home sick from school, I would slide over to the VCR and tape episodes of Lois and Clark: the New Adventures of Superman off of TNT so I could watch Lois and Clark fall in love over and over again.  Needless to say, my fangirl chops are legit.

So I was tickled by how sweet and encompassing this book is.  Maggs covers all the various types of fandom and covers some of the big ones (Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, Marvel/DC, etc.) and how you can get involved in them if you’re curious.  She talks about how to cosplay, how to navigate conventions depending on what you want to accomplish, great sites to find fellow fans, and so much more.  While a lot of the info was a bit lost on me since I already know my way around the fandom world, this book would be perfect for a young fangirl (of any gender identity- boys can be fangirls too!).  It might help them feel less alone and help them find others who love like they do.  I know I would have loved to have read a book like this when I was a pre-teen- nobody in my town seemed to like the same things like I did and in the same way.  And then I discovered the internet, and message boards, and Livejournal, and man, things were never the same.

Super cute, super informational, and filled with adorable illustrations.  What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

