Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

“But life doesn’t often spell things out for you or give you what you want exactly when you want it, otherwise it wouldn’t be called life, it would be called vending machine.
It’s hard to say exactly when it will happen, and it’s true that whatever you’re after may not drop down the moment you spend all your quarters, but someday soon a train is coming. In fact, it may already be on the way. You just don’t know it yet.”

I am a huge proponent of audiobooks, even though I don’t read them much myself.  It’s not that I don’t think they’re amazing (I do), but I usually tend to read things the traditional way.  But when I had to bring my niece and nephew down to my sister over the weekend, I knew I had a good 5+ hours in the car and I wasn’t feeling like playing radio roulette the whole way.  So I stopped by the library before I left and looked for something cute to pass the time.  And when I saw this book waiting for me on the shelf, one that had been on my to-read list since I heard about it, I knew it was the one.

And oh man, was it the perfect way to spend my drive.  Narrated by Lauren herself, this book showcases the innate charm and likeability that has followed her career from the early days.  Like most people my age, I know Lauren mostly for her role as Lorelai Gilmore on Gilmore Girls, one of my favorite shows.  When I think about Gilmore Girls, I think about watching the show with one of my sorority sisters in college, and how much I bonded with others through the adventures of those from Stars Hollow.  And if you love Gilmore Girls, you will definitely love this book.  Lauren’s stories about making the show, and her diary entries from filming the revival, showcase how much the cast and crew truly loved what they were doing and how much they treasured each other.  Every time she mentioned the dearly departed Edward Herrmann and how Kelly Bishop would reference him while filming, I got a little choked up.

Lauren’s writing style is super conversational, and that really came through when listening to the audiobook.  It felt like sitting down with an old friend and having her tell me some of her favorite stories from her life.  You get snapshots from her early childhood with her dad and living all over the world, you hear about her college days and early career as a GAT (gal about town), you of course get Gilmore Girls and Parenthood and her relationship with Peter Krause, and you mainly get great insight into her personality and how she lives her life.  Her writing style is pretty great, and now I can’t wait to check out her fiction book Someday, Someday, Maybe which has been on my to-read list since it came out.  I’m also super excited for all of the projects that she’s working on as a producer/writer, like The Royal We by my favorite Fug Girls and the like. It was a lovely way to spend an afternoon while driving, and I’m glad I could hear these stories with Lauren’s voice guiding my way.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

