The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking

“Hygge has been called everything from “the art of creating intimacy,” “coziness of the soul,” and “the absence of annoyance,” to “taking pleasure from the presence of soothing things,” “cozy togetherness,” and my personal favorite, “cocoa by candlelight”

The Little Book of Hygge was a perfectly fine book about the concept of “hygge,” something which I’ve seen mentioned all over the place lately.  (Hygge is apparently pronounced “hoo-ga” though I always want to call it “higgy” as in rhymes with jiggy. You don’t know me.)

It’s apparently the hot new fad in how to live your life.  Basically hygge emphasizes comfort, soft lighting, warm drinks, cake, books, fuzzy socks- coziness in a culture.

Which I can totally get behind.  I am a cozy person by default.  I prefer my socks to be warm and snuggly, my blankets on my person at all times, and I am a huge fan of candles and twinkle lights.  But this book was a little surfacey for me.  I wanted more information on how hygge became such a fixture of Danish culture, and why it was now en vogue around the world.  I wanted more stats and evidence on how hygge items of life can impact a person’s mood or environment, especially those that are not stereotypically into a hygge lifestyle.  I just wanted more depth.

The recipes in the book were interesting, and I liked the lists of items that are basically part and parcel of your hygge starter pack.  And I mean I actually liked them too- like I said, I am a person who apparently has been hygge before I knew hygge existed. (I was hygge before it was cool.)

Anyway, if you are completely unaware of the hygge life and want to get more jiggy with the hygge, this book isn’t a bad place to start.  But if you want a deeper look at this cultural phenomenon, you might be a little disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

