The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins

Oh man.  This book.  THIS BOOK.

I don’t know if I can find the words to describe this gem of a book.  I went into it knowing practically nothing about the story, other than that it was about a weird library and was a good choice if you wanted to get into the magical realism genre.

And maybe that’s the best way to go about it.  Because part of the joy of this book is discovering all of its twists and turns and nooks and crannies for yourself.

I’ve always been a big fan of mythology since I was a wee tot, grabbing every Greek Mythology book from the library and memorizing the names of the gods, their Roman counterparts, and seeing what stories were present in the Norse tales, the Native folklore, the Chinese and Japanese myths.

So this book, with its mythical library, mysterious “Father” and twelve disciples tasked with learning from their own specific catalog… sign me up.  Add in circumstances of how these twelve regular kids became otherworldy adults, a reformed thief turned budding Buddhist, a caper, a mess of secrets, and much more… well, you have my attention.

The writing was fantastic, the story was engrossing, and the only thing I wished for was more time within this ridiculously amazing world.  I would have read this book if it had been twice as long.  I loved the characters and the story that much.

As far as I can tell, Scott Hawkins doesn’t have anything else published yet- there is a blurb on his website that there is a short story in the Mount Char verse coming soon, and a couple of books that will be upcoming as well.  I for one will be one of the first in line to read whatever he publishes next.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

